Vulnerability in the linux kernel... when 7.0.1?

21 respostas [Última entrada]
B50D
B50D

*when trisquel 7.0.1?

SuperTramp83

I am a translator!

Ciao BSOD!
Indeed the kernel for Buguntu 14.04 LTS and all the derivatives using that kernel (like Triquel 7) must upgrade to linux-image-3.13.0-68 (3.13.0-68.111)

uname -a will give you the output of what kernel is currently running on your OS. I guess the developers already pushed the updated kernel. If not, I would suggest you install the latest jxself's libre kernel 4.3

pizzaiolo

BSOD: A possible workaround is to use the latest kernel: https://jxself.org/linux-libre/

onpon4

There's no need for a "workaround". Trisquel is up-to-date here.

B50D

ok but all the people who download the iso and boot trisquel in live have this vulnerability, and not only this

onpon4

Do you have any idea how often security vulnerabilities are discovered and fixed? It would be terribly impractical to release a new live ISO every time this happens, and no distro does this (edit: except distros that are designed to always be run from a live CD, and never installed, like Tails). New ISOs are either released when a new major version of the system is released, or in regular intervals of something like 6 months or a year. In the latter case, the purpose isn't to patch security vulnerabilities, it's to reduce the amount of time a new user has to spend installing updates, or in some cases to provide newer kernels so that the system can more easily be installed on newer hardware.

Making sure the system is up-to-date is why Ubiquity offers the option to download updates while installing. But even if the user chooses not to do this, the danger is minimal as long as updates are installed before too long.

Pyraman

In any case, I think it is a perfect time to release a new version of Trisquel ISO,
because it has not been updated for 1.5 years already... With such rare update frequency,