5 respostas [Última entrada]
Issues

can i get my Centrino Wireless-N 1030 to work withe trisquel
if yes how to do so step by step
trisquel now wont even recognise a wirles card or network on my laptop
i do not know anything about linux only that i want it

muhammed

I think that someone here will be able to help. I'm just here to nit-pick:

Linux is one of many programs that make up our system. It's misleading (and gives undue credit) to call the whole system Linux.

This community cares about software freedom, as the GNU Project set out in 1983. All the programs that make up our system are checked for compliance with the GNU principles.

I think that it is more accurate to call the system GNU. This name describes our philosophical motivation. GNU applies to all the programs that make up the system.

What I'm trying to say is that I don't know enough abuot wifi drivers to actually be helpful >_>

oysterboy

I am a member!

I am a translator!

Unfortunately for you, this Intel wireless card depends on a non-free piece of firmware, which is not distributed by Trisquel due to its non-free nature. You can either replace your wifi card by a freedom-friendly card, or use a USB wireless adapter (see https://www.thinkpenguin.com/catalog/wireless-networking-gnulinux for models guaranteed to work with Trisquel).

bluejupiter

I got a dongle online a couple years ago that simply plugs into the USB port and it works perfectly. If there is no free alternative for your wireless card, that's what I would suggest, as it worked fo rme.

Issues

so botom line is this card is made by satan and i cant use it
rather than making a purchase for a dongle i just went in the basment and made a 15 meter utp cable i gues if you want to be truly free wifi isent a smart move anyway.
thank you bothe for your ansers

Chris

I am a member!