Wifi issues with TL-WN822N USB adapter: it connects but seems to shut down after few minutes despite updates

14 respostas [Última entrada]
Philippe_Duteil

Dear Trisquel community,

First of all, thanks to all of you for bringing Trisquel alive. I just switched from Windows, and I am completely discovering a new world in which I feel active, getting in control, and it is awesome. However, as a newbie, I face wireless problems that seem to be hard to solve. And believe me, I looked for updating the drivers, the kernel, opening the network configuration with a bunch of different commands but still, the same problem remains. I am using a wireless USB Adapter called TP-Link TL-WN822N which, according to what I gather from the internet, is a compatible firmware that would work on Trisquel almost, I assume, out of the box. So that thing is recognized by my computer when I first log in, and I can browse few minutes on the net, but then, nothing. It is still recognized by the computer, and it seems to connect to the internet, but gives nothing except blank pages that seems to load eternally. In such a situation, I have to plug the adapter off, wait few seconds, and plug it in to continue browsing. It is very annoying as I can’t use wifi while I am using a laptop for professional purposes. I started thinking about installing the firmware for my Intel AC-7620 wireless card, but I really want to respect Trisquel’s philosophy as I truly love it, which is why I choose this OS at the end... I may buy a Penguin wireless adapter that seems to work also out of the box, but I am afraid to encounter the same problem. I don't know what to do.

I am sorry for this long message and for such stupid questions.

Anyway, thanks a lot for any answer and for your patience.

I wish you a very nice day.

Yours faithfully,

Philippe

loldier

I have WN722N dongle and I can confirm the issue.