Screen is off at boot - ASUS X 200MA

14 respostas [Última entrada]
garbagebags

Well, everything was working great until I updated my system! Apparently this problem is prevalent for many distros Ubuntu-based and others. I've tried the FN key + Screen on/off and suspending the notebook by closing it and opening it and that doesn't work either. Anyone have an idea?

davidnotcoulthard (non verificado)
davidnotcoulthard

Remove newest kernel and reboot?

garbagebags

Not exactly sure how to get into the relevant menu/cmd to do that. I tried holding 'shift' to get into the kernel selection menu but it's not working either.

davidnotcoulthard

Try ESC (if holding doesn't work try pressing multiple times).

Magic Banana

I am a member!

I am a translator!

I guess you first need to boot the previous kernel to get a display (unless you can remotely connect to your system). You need to choose that previous kernel at GRUB's menu... and you need its password if you have not removed it. If have not, use a live system and read the password in /etc/grub.d/01_PASSWORD. Once you manage to boot your system, you can get rid on the GRUB password by making all lines in /etc/grub.d/01_PASSWORD start with "#" (you can execute 'sudo gedit /etc/grub.d/01_PASSWORD' to edit the file) and then executing 'sudo update-grub'.

garbagebags

Thanks for all the replies! I ended up having to do a reinstall and marking apt to keep the current kernel and ignore the update.

Totally happy with Trisquel otherwise! I've got a System 76 Meerkat on the way which I plan on installing Trisquel on as well. Hopefully I won't run into hardware issues but part of the fun is getting it to work right? >_<

Chris

I am a member!