Call for discussion: move from x86/64

16 respostas [Última entrada]
alimiracle

Maybe I was wrong.
But anyway, I'll tell you my visions and hear your thoughts.
arm came before x86/64 and seme apparently will stay after x86
Honestly I think it's the future
Most of the devices in this days use arm
Apparently, in my simple experience, its freer from x86/64
Yeah, I admit it has a lot of problems.
for example it's slower and generates more heat

But it's the future.
I think distributions should focus on ARM instead of x86.
What do you think?

kishan1357

Well nothing stops you from forking an arm version of any Linux-libre distro

Cyberhawk

I am a translator!

I think the issue is not distributions focusing on ARM. It's not like Debian, for example, is only available on the x86 architecture. Here is a full selection of architectures that can run Debian GNU/Linux: amd64 arm64 armel armhf i386 mips mips64el mipsel ppc64el s390x

The issue is hardware that is available for consumers that works as a replacement of x86 systems.

There is the Leemote Yeeloong (sorry if I spell it wrong), but it is not a viable option for a LOT of everyday uses.

Because most users are running x86 machines, the standard version of each distro is an x86 version. But Linux-libre can run on SO many different architectures. All remotely modern CPUs can run Linux-libre. And, by extension, those CPUs can run GNU/Linux distributions.

While you may be right to claim x86 is not going to be the future, it is not up to developers of free software to push for ARM or any other platform. It is up to hardware developers to offer viable options for consumers. If someone has a mipsel, ppc, or arm CPU they can already try Debian GNU/Linux (and by extension I assume Trisquel as well) on their machines.